Birth plan: / Plan para el parto

Right, I am scared of everything to do with hospitals (even though I’ve had several operations). So just the thought of giving birth gave me nightmares. I am lucky enough to be able to afford private health care and the doctors followed my pregnancy through very closely. I also have another private gynecologist who operated on me years before to take out endometriosis I had that had given me problems for 5 years and I was told in the state hospital that they would take my uterus out and that would solve the problem! Hence this little baby being a miracle as at one point I never though I’d be able to have children! 

Anyway….I was worried as I have slipped discs that have been operated on that I would have complications with and epidural. We spoke to the anesthetist and she explained that there was a small % that the fibrosis in my back could cause the epidural to not work properly though she explained that in perfectly healthy cases this was possible as well. The second option was a C-section with a Raki. 

Now for some mums just hearing this would be terrible news and I understand that but for me personally a programmed c-section was a dream come true. I’d have a date (as long as he didn’t decide to arrive earlier). I wouldn’t have to worry about how whether the epidural would work or not and after having several operations I know my body is quick at recovery. I’d already made my decision before we left the room, I’d like a programmed C-section. 

That was it, just like that, a date was set for two weeks time: the 1-6-16 what a lovely date! And I still had one week left at work and then a week left then to prepare! 

Things were really getting real!

Tengo miedo con todo lo que se asocia con  los hospitales (aunque haya tenido varias operaciones). Solo pensar en el parto me daba pesadillas. Tengo suerte de tener un seguro médico y me hicieron muchas revisiones durante el embarazo. También tengo otro ginecóloga privada también quien me opero de endometriosis hace unos años después de haber estado 5 años sufriendo y en el hospital de la seguridad social me habían amenazado con quitar el utero para resolver mis problemas. Dado esto llamamos a nuestro hijo un milagro ya que había un momento en que pensé que nunca tendría hijos.

Bueno….con mi historial de mi espalda de las operaciones de hernias fiscales me daba miedo que tendría complicaciones con el epidural. Fuimos a hablar con el anestethista y me explicó que había un pequeño porcentaje de probabilidad que no le hiciera efecto por la fibrosis que tenía en la espalda. La segunda opción era una cesárea con una raki.

Para algunas madre seé que esta noticia hubiera sido horrible y lo entiendo.  Sin embargo personalmente para mí una cesárea programada era un sueño hecho realidad. Tendría una fecha además (siempre y cuando no viniera antes de tiempo). No tendría que estar dudando si el epidural funcionaria o no y el post operatorio para mí no era una preocupación ya que solía recuperarme rápido de las cirugías. Ya había tomado la decisión antes de salir de la sala, quería una cesárea. 

Y fue así….nos dieron fecha para dentro de dos semanas: 1-6-16. (Me encantó la fecha). Me quedaba una semana más en el trabajo y otra semana en casa para prepararme.

¡Las cosas ya se hacían reales!

Leave a Reply

